Local Government Election Results 2017

The 2017 local government elections have closed with three new councillors elected and four re-elected including a two year term filled as an extraordinary election alongside the usual election.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, with candidates elected using the first-past-the-post voting system.
Two seats are being filled for the Palmyra-Melville-Willagee Ward, following the departure of a former councillor to State Government mid-term during the March 2017 State elections. The first elected position for the ward stands for a 4 year term and the second elected position for a 2 year term. Approval was given by the Electoral Commissioner to hold the extraordinary election alongside the usual Local Government Elections for which there is provision in the Local Government Act 1995.
With three new councillors elected and four re-elected, the City’s new look council will include:
Russell Aubrey 
Deputy Mayor
To be elected at the Special Meeting of Council on Monday, 23 October 2017
Applecross-Mount Pleasant Ward (Applecross, Brentwood & Mount Pleasant)
Nicholas Pazolli (Term of office ends 2019)
Steve Kepert (Newly elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Bateman-Kardinya-Murdoch Ward (Bateman, Kardinya & Murdoch)
Tim Barling  (Term of office ends 2019)
Nicole Foxton (Re-elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Bicton-Attadale-Alfred Cove Ward (Alfred Cove, Attadale & Bicton)
Guy Wieland (Term of office ends 2019)
June Barton (Re-elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Bull Creek-Leeming Ward
Matthew Woodall (Term of office ends 2019)
Clive Robartson (Re-elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Central Ward (Ardross, Booragoon, Myaree, Winthrop)
Duncan Macphail (Term of office ends 2019)
Katy Mair (Newly elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Palmyra-Melville-Willagee Ward (Melville, Palmyra & Willagee)*
Karen Wheatland (Newly elected - Term of office ends 2021)
Patricia Phelan (Re-elected - Term of office ends 2019)
*Two seats filled due to extraordinary election
With traditionally low turnout rates for local government elections (a State average of approximately 27 percent) 2017 has seen a welcome  higher than average 37.07 per cent turnout in the City of Melville compared to a turnout of 29.95 per cent in 2015 and 28.8 per cent in 2013.
A Special Meeting of the Council will be held on Monday, 23 October 2017, to swear in the new councillors, including the selection of a new Deputy Mayor for a one year term.
Specifically the purpose of the Special Meeting is to:
Conduct a Declaration of Office Ceremony for newly elected Councillors
Elect the Deputy Mayor
Elect Councillors to the Financial Management, Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee and the Governance Committee
Elect representatives to Advisory, Local Government and Community Committees
The 2017 elections were conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and held under a ‘first past the post’ voting system, whereby the candidate with the highest vote wins. A Commission appointed Returning Officer oversees the election process, taking candidate nominations, to supervising the count on election night and declaring the results.

To find out more about your elected members visit www.melvillecity.com.au/electedmembers or contact 1300 635 845.

Visit the Western Australian Electoral commission's website www.waec.wa.gov.au for full details of the election results.