Future Champions Awarded Sports Scholarships

Seventeen of Melville’s brightest sporting stars were awarded Youth Sports Scholarships (YSS) at a celebratory presentation held on Wednesday, 14 September 2016, aiming to foster, develop and enhance outstanding sporting abilities for the City of Melville’s young people.

Mayor Russell Aubrey said the scholarship enables young athletes to reach new sporting heights, benefiting from free access to the City’s award winning LeisureFit Centres for a year.

“Every year we are blown away by the outstanding talent and huge level of commitment from our sporting youth. This year’s YSS received more applications than ever before, making it extremely hard for the judging panel, Mayor Aubrey said

“Congratulations to recent victor and continuing scholarship winner Min Woo Lee, who recently won the recent US Junior Amateur Golf Championship.

“It was fantastic to see new athletes and some familiar faces of previous YSS winners who again have qualified for the scholarship this year, illustrating the continued dedication, ambition and determination of our sporting stars.

“With a huge variety of sporting activities sponsored this year, I look forward to seeing our future champions compete at international level across a diverse range of sport We may have our next Olympic hero among us,” Mayor Aubrey said.

Congratulations to the 2016 Scholarship winners:

Alastair Bruce


Alessandra Ho

Synchronised Swimming

Brielle Karklin


Caitlin Blackman


Cody Smith


Dylan Wood


Hannah Burkhill

Synchronised Swimming

James Leigh


Jo Synman


Jonathan Sammut


Kazia Zenke

Synchronised Swimming

Lilly Bird

Australia Football League

Min Woo Lee


Niamh Walsh


Olivia Clifford


Patrick Tichelaar


Tamila Andreeva

Synchronised Swimming

For more information visit www.melvillecity.com.au/ysss or call 1300 635 845 | 9364 0666.